Washington State High School Artists Honored: MVSD’s Greta Laesch Receives WA State Board of Education Art Award and Scholarship

Superintendent Chris Reykdal announced Art Show winners in the annual celebration.

Greta Laesch, Washington Pass

Greta Laesch • Washington Pass

OLYMPIA — May 29, 2020 — Sixteen students performing an acapella number via Zoom. A student performing a dance routine on her couch. Students sharing their inspiration in video clips from bedrooms and studios across the state. All this and more from the 47th Annual Superintendent’s High School Art Show, held virtually this year for the first time.

The show, sponsored by the Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction (OSPI), celebrated the work of high school artists from around the state. For the first time in its nearly half-century history, the show featured art from disciplines beyond visual art, including a short film, a Shakespearean monologue, and a reading of ekphrastic poetry — poetry written about pieces from the show.

“The annual Art Show is one of my favorites of the events we host at OSPI,” said Superintendent of Public Instruction Chris Reykdal. “It is an honor to have the opportunity to celebrate the talented student artists who have been brave enough to share their artwork with us.”

The show is the culmination of a statewide competition with regional winners from each regional educational service district (ESD) represented.

These groups will pay each artist $200 to purchase their award-winning artwork for their art collections. Four Jurors’ Choice Awards were also selected by a panel of 20 jurors from across the state, including artists, museum educators, gallery owners, arts administrators, and arts educators.

We encourage you to watch a replay of the show on OSPI’s Facebook page, view the online art gallery, and join us as we recognize LBHS Junior, Greta Laesch and LBHS Art Instructor, Erik Brooks!

Art Show Award Recipients

Lauren Bridget King, “Lightbulb Sunset” | Superintendent’s Award
J M Weatherwax High School (Teacher: Tracy Ecklund), Aberdeen School District, ESD 113

Rubi Capote, “Cherry Blossom Tea Pot” | Governor’s Award
Tonasket High School (Teacher: Tyler Sant), Tonasket School District, ESD 171

Rocio Arias Garcia, “Boys Don’t Cry” | OSPI Staff Award
Davis High School (Teacher: Carole Huls), Yakima School District, ESD 105

Alyssa Ann Maggi, “Catacombs” | Jurors’ Choice Award
Vancouver School of Arts and Academics (Teacher: Crystal Zeller), Vancouver School District, ESD 112

Katie Leigh Place, “Wave of Turmoil” | Jurors’ Choice Award
Friday Harbor High School (Teacher: Andrew Anderson), San Juan Island School District, ESD 189

Peyton S Wood, “Pothos” | Jurors’ Choice Award
Oak Harbor High School (Teacher: Kit Christopherson), Oak Harbor School District, ESD 189

Olivia Alejandra Vazquez, “Tension” | Jurors’ Choice Award
Olympia High School (Teacher: Joshua Everson), Olympia School District, ESD 113

Hannah Anne Mildred V Sasse, “Brian’s Apples” | AWSP Award
Olympia High School (Teacher: Joshua Everson), Olympia School District, ESD 113

Andrew Jonathan Cobler, “Beast, Machine, and Soul” | ArtsEd Washington Award
Tumwater High School (Teacher: Jill Giudice), Tumwater School District, ESD 113

Shelby Donna Staley, “Connection” | InspireWA Award
North Mason Senior High School (Teacher: Gavin Forseth), North Mason School District, ESD 114

Peyton Knauft, “Pollen Patterns” | PESB Award
Lincoln High School (Teacher: Jane Eacker), Walla Walla Public Schools, ESD 123

Greta Laesch, “Washington Pass” | SBE Award
Liberty Bell Junior/Senior High School (Teacher: Erik Brooks), Methow Valley School District, ESD 171

Ryan F Collins, “Life on the Rocks” | WAEA Award
Hanford High School (Teacher: Kelley Muntean), Richland School District, ESD 123

Jarom A Pratt, “Gradient Mountainscape” | WASA Award
Richland High School (Teacher: Robert McMinn), Richland School District, ESD 123

Niko Shawn Renee Looper, “We Need to Do Better” | WEA Award
Central Valley High School (Teacher: Rebekah Wilkins-Pepiton), Central Valley School District, ESD 101

Hannah R Bomgardner, “Fiery Woman” | WSSDA Award
Cedarcrest High School (Teacher: Andrea Descheemaeker), Riverview School District, ESD 121